My name is Adrian. I am a Pisces. I enjoy long weekends, cars, and roadtrips.

And I will be paying off my mortgage in six years.

No, this isn’t some story about someone earning $100k+ a year and has so much disposable income that they can throw tens of thousands of dollars at anything they choose. This is a story about a guy who’s salary is half that, but will still be paying off his mortgage balance of $125,000 in six years…WITHOUT CHANGING HIS ENTIRE LIFE TO DO IT.

Here are some things that matter about myself. I am 25 years old. I have been with my partner for 5 years and we married in 2015. We have zero children, and one dog. I have a high school diploma and also hold a Real Estate license..

Before finding my career in finance, I made some mistakes. Some costly ones, at that. I attended a community college and eventually decided to drop out, although I did manage to create about $4,000 in student loans for my semester. When I got my real estate license, my residential sales for the year averaged out around  $3.13 per hour for 40 hours a week. I tried to hold my drowning real estate career above water by selling cars on the side, but working two jobs wasn’t the life I always pictured for myself. I got a “placeholder” job with a local credit union while I figured out what I wanted to do next, and unknowingly stumbled into my calling.

Alright. That’s enough about me. Let’s talk about money.

I’m going to spill my entire financial life, so get ready.

We have owned our house in the suburbs for 3 years, purchased with a 30 year mortgage and $0 down through a first time home-buyer program. We own two cars. One that I bought brand new and owe about $17,000 on (after refinancing it to pay for unexpected dental work); the second car was purchased pre-owned and we currently owe about $7,000 on this one. We also have $3,800 in revolving credit card debt, and currently $1,500 in student loans–as mentioned above.

The two of us DO have a savings which is big enough to cover any insurance deductibles or unexpected events, but still isn’t healthy enough to pay our bills for 3 to 6 months if we were unable to work. We save $40 per pay period towards Xmas shopping, and about $25 per month in a savings account dedicated for car maintenance. Both of us have life insurance, I have short and long term disability, and we have 401k’s that we’re working on growing.

I have my five-year budget on a spreadsheet that I can access anywhere, 24/7. On this sheet, I track the last three years of my utility bills, all pay raises at work, my “debt payoff” schedule, and so many more boring aspects of my financial life. Basically, if the dollar flows through my household–I know about it. I’m a control freak, so this ultra-detailed approach works for me. Your results may vary. We’ll cover all kinds of options in future posts.

Now that I have spilled my entire financial picture for your viewing pleasure, you’re going to return the favor and keep coming back… right?

If you stick around, I’ll teach you everything I know about money (PS: That’s quite a bit). My ultimate goal is to pay off my house in six years, but that’s just one of 6 financial goals I have in place.

If you stay loyal to this blog, you’ll learn about the small changes you can make that have a big impact. We will show you how to SAVE money negotiating car and home purchases, how to EARN money by negotiating your salary, how to PAY OFF debt, and so much more.

Yes, my journey to financial freedom is incomplete, and that’s why I am here. Anyone can say how easy the race was from the winning side of the finish line. That’s not what I want to do. I want to show you every step of my path. With your dedication, we’ll reach the end of our adventure, together.

And eventually, you and I will part ways. If I run my blog correctly, you will be empowered to take CONTROL of your money, get ahead in life, no longer need my free services. BUT, you will also recommend that your family and friends follow my advice so they may enjoy their own version of your financial success. And I will be blogging in my paid off house at age 31.

That’s my promise to you.

Sound good? Great. Let’s start changing your life!

Stay tuned for our first money post.